Out of Sorts

Day four: John asked me what was wrong. Just up from a nap, I have no idea. No cravings for food I shouldn’t eat. No real physical pain at the moment. Tension in my head around the temples and a band following all the way around my head. Nothing is wrong. Everything is wrong. But it has no name, like trying to nail jello to a wall.

Honestly, I just feel out of sorts.

A friend suggested when I mentioned my extraordinary amount of sleep over the weekend that perhaps I am detoxing, shedding all the chemicals and sugars. I was concerned that perhaps I needed some carbohydrates to sustain some action.

It’s funny, I’m accustomed to having some insight. Today, I just don’t.  Perhaps this is why no one ever describes this feeling in the diet books. There’s nothing pithy to report, nothing splendidly insightful.

I’m not craving food that less than a week ago would have been a default meal. For lunch, I stood with refrigerator door open and found a meal of soup and salad with toast and oil and vinegar instead of opting for drive thru French fries. Pizza has some interest for me, but I’m not compelled to buy some. When I didn’t feel like cooking dinner, I’ve opted to roast potatoes and eat a salad. Add goat cheese for protein.

Nothing pithy or cute. Just plain blah!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Out of Sorts

  1. are you pregnant? just kidding. i get that way from time to time. fun, isn’t it. 🙂

  2. You know, sometimes I think we just need to all reset. I have learned the best way to deal with it is to go with it. All is well!

  3. salmonandgrits

    Thanks y’all. No, Nat, I’m not pregnant. On a drastically different diet than in the past. It’s a challenge.

Leave a Reply

